Spicing up February

The weather was a bit dreary last week – but the lack of sunshine didn’t dampen the joy of nights out, new recipes and outdoor jaunts.

On Saturday I had planned to tackle a mid-sized run, but when I hit the five mile mark on the Mall I couldn’t resist adding on a lap of the Tidal Basin. I made a stair-stepping pit stop at the Jefferson, and snapped a photo of the cloudy monument reflections. In total I ended up covering nine miles from Georgetown, to Theodore Roosevelt Island, to the Mall and back home. And was jogging on empty by the end; yikes I should have taken a granola bar!

32827883276_c23ba5b019_o
In the kitchen this week I tested out some new spice combinations with a Greek inspired grilled chicken marinade and accompanying tzatziki. The result was a refreshing, homemade pita wrap! For the marinade I mixed together vegetable oil, oregano, garlic, salt, pepper and lemon. The tzatziki was a combination of greek yogurt, cucumber, onion, dill, garlic, lemon and olive oil. I paired the wraps with a tomato and cucumber salad. Reminder: fresh tomatoes in February are not ideal. But overall, I’ll have to add this combo to the at-home meal rotation!

32046750044_2db97c2d32_o
And in festive events, the second week of February is clearly centered on Galentine’s/Valentine’s celebrations, and some themed gatherings and margaritas out were thoroughly enjoyed.

32715513322_dcc54cbae5_o-1
Cheers!

-EmPan
Leave a Reply

