May Flowers

It’s un-officially the start of the summer season and, finally, the rain stopped for a few days in the greater DC area! The result of weeks of precipitation: So much greenery!

26734132353_5fd4994d20_o
Over the long weekend I was able to take a trip outside the district to Sugarloaf Mountain. So great to trek up the rocky trails and embrace the great outdoors. Ken, Levi and I started at the base and hiked the blue and white trails for about six miles, stopping at both the East View and the peak to embrace the sites.

27065395870_59f03c186d_o
27270148111_dfde33e5aa_o
In other earthy updates, I’ve officially added grilled tofu to my weekly meal rotation. It’s so easy to make, and can be paired with a variety of sides. Including my recent discovery of homemade tzatziki-style dipping sauce!

27243156722_46caabfcf7_o
The combination is not quite groundbreaking – in the literal sense as the Greeks have flavored dishes with yogurt based concoctions for ages, and health-nuts for at least a few years – nevertheless, it’s a notable realization in my book. I combined Greek yogurt, cilantro, chives, garlic powder and a pinch of salt for the dipping sauce. Super delicious, filling and flavorful. I’ve already started to use Greek yogurt as a baking substitute, but this was the first time I called on it’s tanginess for savory dishes. I’m finally realizing all the other uses for the yogurt – so many possibilities!

For workouts, I was able to get back on track for half marathon training this week with a few 4-5 mile runs and a longer 10 miler at just below a 9 minute pace. The Bristol half is just over a month away, and I’m hoping to get my time down a bit more before taking on the Rhode race. Looking forward to additional humid, morning training runs over the next few weeks!

Cheers!
– EmPan

Leave a Reply

