Super Supper

Cold weather and subsequent lack of artistic inspiration in the great outdoors has helped me hone in on artistry in the kitchen as of recent. An overview:

Pictured: A fantastic Sunday supper. I was really striving for a complete, side-dish filled meal this week and think I nailed it!

24670412111_909f413eda_o
Shown above is barbecue chicken paired with baked macaroni and cheese and steamed broccoli. The initial plan was to try out a slow-cooker pulled pork recipe, but since the grocery store was completely out of the meat I had to improvise and reverted to my backup plan of last week’s CrockPot chicken. Still delicious!

I’m also pretty happy with how the macaroni came out! Let’s get a close-up:

24670414511_97179da584_o
I followed this Lighter Baked Macaroni and Cheese recipe, which reduces the butter content and replaces cream with skim and chicken broth. I also added in spinach and fire roasted red peppers, an idea I saw in another recipe! Crushed red pepper flakes were also liberally thrown into the mix; everything seems to taste better with my favorite go-to spice of the moment.

Pictured: Partaking in a Turkish pastry class at the Embassy of Turkey! The Embassy offers free demonstration classes – an offer Meagan, Claire, Kelsey and I couldn’t refuse.

24670412101_94e629a3c8_o
Our chef instructor, with the homemade pita!
24670419461_6d067b149b_o

Not pictured:
Weeknight chocolate chip banana bread! I swapped the sour cream for greek yogurt and used just a tad less chocolate chips this time. Lower-cal, ish.

Cheers!
-EmPan

Leave a Reply

