Well Rounded

I don’t always have a culturally well rounded weekend, but when I do it’s surely blog-worthy. It felt great to hit the ground running (literal meaning) and embrace the art scene, especially after a hectic workweek!

Art: May 1st was First Friday in the DC! This was my second time in attendance; it really is quite the delightful concept. The perfect space to catch up with friends, sip some wine and appreciate the arts that are out of my price range.

Art

(Kelsey)

Culture: Then Saturday’s weather was perfect for Passport DC; a day when dozens of embassies have open houses for the public (no passport required). Claire and I traveled to Guatemala, Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic. The Dominican Republic topped our list, with rum samples, music pumping and a tropical-themed photo booth. Such a fun event!

Passport DC

(w/ Claire)

Food: Technically I didn’t personally whip up the Grilled Chicken Pesto Pizza Keely and I enjoyed, but since I chopped the onions and peppers for the pie I’ll take a piece of the credit for this masterpiece:

Pizza

Literature: Book club took place this weekend! Normally it’s a weekday activity, but this month we switched things up with a picnic style gathering in Dupont Circle. The book: Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. The novel follows the life of Ifemelu, a Nigeririan teenager, as she gains a student visa to the US and observes racism in the American culture. She frequently narrates the difference between African-Americans and American-Africans (what she considers herself). It wasn’t like anything I’ve read before; worth a read!

Book Club

(Kelly and Keely)

Run: Even without a race in my near future, I’ve thankfully been able to stick to my plan of continuing longer runs in my workout schedule. This week was a steady nine miles! In addition to gearing up for future marathon training, I’ve also started to hone-in on some enjoyable running/nutrition blogs. Recent discoveries include Fannetastic Food and Carrots ’N’ Cake; both great recommendations from a friend in-the-know!

Run

Cheers!

– EmPan

Leave a Reply

