Lottery Winner

Screen Shot 2015-03-29 at 11.08.25 PM

Yes, I’ll be running the Marine Corps Marathon in October!! Crazy!! Wednesday morning’s congratulatory email definitely got my adrenaline going. I think my first reaction was along the lines of “oh no!” as in, “now I have to actually run 26.2 miles!” Since then, some of the shock has warn away and I’ve started to plan accordingly. Dedicated marathon training won’t have to start until around June, but there are a few areas to look into before then:

1. Training plans! I’ve browsed a bit at training schedules and most involve 4-5 days of running a week. Realistically, this won’t work. Based on previous half marathon trainings, I know I can really only fit in 2-3 runs a week to be a happy runner, while also continuing to cross train. Adding in weight training and/or plyometric workouts work much better for me than a 4th run of the week. I’ve heard good things from Hal Higdon so will most likely be basing a schedule off of his novice plan. More research to come!

2. Nutrition plans! After running long distances it can be a total mind game trying to figure out what to eat for the rest of the day to replenish lost nutrients and re-feul. I.e my Garmin watch may say I burned 1k calories during a run, but that has to be replaced with quality protein and carbs, and not cookies. This is something I struggle with.

3. Group training! I actually prefer to run alone so group runs are not really something I intentionally seek out. When it gets to 14-20 miles in training I’m guessing I’ll have to join a running group for both safety and sanity purposes.

Until June I’ll be working through all of these conundrums and trying to keep up my current long runs between 8-10 miles once a week/week-and-a-half. And running in the Cherry Blossom 10 miler in two weeks! Racing during peak bloom: when allergies and picturesque trails collide.

No worries, I’ve focused on more than just future marathoning over the last few days. After mid-week mooching on friends’ corporate dinners and Caps games, I gained some new perspective at the Hirshhorn Art Gallery. Yup, there are some odd pieces of art in there. But also a Rothko!

Rothko

(Rothko)

Cheers!

– EmPan

One thought on “Lottery Winner

  1. Pingback: Finisher! | EmPan Blogs

Leave a Reply

