Flavor(full)

This Thanksgiving I had a fantastic time catching up with family and friends in a New England winter wonderland. It snowed!

Nance(Nance)

Even Papa Joe was all smiles : )

Papa Joe(Papa Joe)

The best Thanksgiving dinner treat: homemade ice cream! Top chef Uncle Keith graced us with the most decadent and elaborate ice cream and sorbet spread one could imagine. There were seven varieties!

Amanda(Amanda)

Each favor was so rich and condensed one scoop was enough to get the full experience. So I tried a few spoonfuls of pumpkin, cinnamon and raspberry chocolate. Quite good! Thanksgiving consumption rules applied.

FullSizeRender-3

After gaining culinary inspiration at home, I whipped up some chicken fajitas back in DC. The best Mexican inspired dish I’ve made so far!

Fajita

 

I followed Paula Deen’s Gold Medal Sizzling Fajita recipe which called for vegetable oil, lemon juice, minced garlic, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder and salt and pepper for the chicken marinade. A great combination of flavors!

This recipe helped expose one of my reoccurring cooking mistakes: I’m using olive oil incorrectly! A little Google-ing helped me realize that olive oil’s smoke point is too low for high heat, quick cooking skillet dishes.

Buzzfeed(via Buzzfeed)

My new rule of thumb: I’ll use olive oil for non-skillet cooking and to flavor dishes post fire. Canola and vegetable oils will be used for cooking on high heat. Avacado, grapeseed, and peanut oils haven’t yet made it to my pantry so we’ll cross those bridges when we get there.

One more visual for good measure:

Fajita

Cheers!

-EmPan

One thought on “Flavor(full)

Leave a Reply

