Almost Spring, Almost

I write this post as snow falls in DC for the billionth time this winter. Spring: so close, so far. Earlier this week we had some awesome warmth! Daylight savings is really working for me; it’s so nice finishing the day when it’s still light out. I was able to sneak in a Tuesday evening mall run. Christened the safety vest Nance and Len got me last fall; successfully avoided fendor-benders! Even stopped to take a selfie!

Selfie run

I’m embarrassed to say I still haven’t cooked anything exciting recently. I have, however, found a way to spice up salads! We can refer to salad as a loose phrase here, normally it consists of spinach, Zesty Italian salad dressing and the occasional Craisin sprinkle. So, in a “salad” rut I decided to actually throw in some tomatoes, scallions, shredded carrots (all about the shredded carrots), salt and pepper, and basil olive oil. Life changing! This might be my new category to explore; veg overload will help detox from unintentional after run carbo-loading.

This weekend was the beginning of friend/family wedding season! Attended the first shower out of three. So fun, for a few reasons! One, I was able to travel home and bond with N&L, bff Nicole and bff bride-to-be Maura! Two, I got an education in proper shower practices, very helpful for my impending bridesmaid and maid of honor duties! By the time Jen’s roles around I’ll be a seasoned shower coordinator (…maybe). But really, it was great to experience the day with Maura. So much love & joy, it was contagious!

Maura's shower

The weekend was a nice break from longs runs, but looking forward to a strong push next week! If I say it here I’ll have to do it. At least that’s what I tell myself.

Cheers!

– EmPan

Leave a Reply

