Cake and Enchiladas

This past weekend I tackled res #1: cook.  For balance I chose dishes on opposite ends of the spectrum, super rich and super veg.  I had been eying my first dessert since I received Martha’s “Everyday Food: Fresh Flavor Fast” cookbook from Nance (Mom).  Seriously, how delicious does that cake look?

Recipe

Thankfully, the perfect occasion arose to make the Glazed Chocolate Cake when I had a Sunday dinner planned with my friends Keely, Mike and Dan.  Even better, it was almost Keely’s bday and I already owned candles! The little things.

The recipe was intimidating.  Everything was made from scratch, and for someone who’s been break-and-baking Toll House cookies for the past few years all the directions made me a little nervous.  I also had to improvise on a few tools, but I think it still turned out well!  We all agreed that it was pretty dense and rich, not a bad thing, but moist wouldn’t be the first thing that came to mind.  Luckily I also made homemade whipped cream to go with it.  Homemade whipped cream is one of my new favorite things, super easy and wicked good.  It’s heavy cream and a little vanilla and sugar.  It’s life-changing.

Glazed Chocolate Cake

Recipe #2 was Stacked Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas taken from a Paleo blog I stumbled on a few weeks ago, Perry’s Plate.  The dish calls to roast the vegetables first, then layer all the ingredients and cook again.  It was time consuming but delicious.  Tons of veg and flavor.  Who knew cumin was the secret ingredient to all things Mexican inspired!?  I switched up a few of the vegetables (aka took out cauliflower) and meant to add black beans to round it out but forgot.  Next time! I could definitely add this to my new dinner rotation.

Veg

The recipe also inspired a little research about the Paleo diet.  Here’s what I insta found:  The Paleo diet is based on what hunter-gatherers consumed during the Paleolithic era and before the agricultural revolution, about 10,000 years ago.  Fresh meats, fish, seafood, fruits, vegetables, seeds, nuts and healthy oils are all fair game.  Dairy products, grains, peanuts, refined sugars and anything processed wouldn’t have been available to hunter-gatherers, and therefore are avoided.

The blog is only partially Paleo, probably because a full Paleo diet would deprive one of most joy in the world (including recipe #1) and said Paleolithic would not be writing a cheery blog about her life.

Veg plate

Bottom line: I had a few too many pots and pans to clean this weekend but am happy with how everything turned out! An encouraging start for sure.

– EmPan

Leave a Reply

